The Brief for August 17, 2020

Guess who's up for an award?

Happy Monday! One article, one video, a bit of news about me, and a bit of news about KICK tokens.

  • Exclusive: Anchorage Is Again Blurring The Lines Between Bitcoin, Crypto And Wall Street

    • Bottom line: Anchorage, a well-regarded investment firm, will let institutions buy crypto without ever touching the crypto market, starting with two security tokens.

    • My take: traditional finance takes one more step into the crypto market.

    • Why we care: Anchorage and others will make it easy for Wall Street to participate in almost every part of crypto investing—including DeFi—without any operational risks or having to learn about how any of this stuff works. Good news because it’s another way for money to enter the market. Bad news because it’s another group of whales who will screw you over if you let them.

Hacker Noon nominated me for a Noonie Award, “Independent Tech Journalist of the Year.” Can you vote for me?

Tap the button below to visit the nomination page and click “Vote” next to my name. If you have a Hacker Noon account, log in first (and if you don’t have one, you may want to create one, it’s free and your vote will carry more weight).

Catch my most recent YouTube video, in which I talk about how the market’s gaining steam and what I think about taking profits. Premium subscribers will get a more in-depth analysis within a few days.

Did you know you have a chance to make money on a token you probably don’t even realize you have?

Way back, you may have gotten 888,888 KICK tokens airdropped to your Ethereum address. A few people from the Kick Ecosystem distributed KICKs at random to a bunch of ETH wallets with a time-lock preventing people from doing anything with the tokens.

Now, you have a chance to redeem your tokens. Read on:

I take no position and have some KICK tokens in my wallet. Because of nonsensical US tax laws and the odd way this particular airdrop worked, I have no clue how to report this on my tax return. As a result, I’m not going to sell until I figure out the consequences.

So I haven’t really thought much about KICK or its price or what the Kick Ecosystem is doing. Just passing along the info. Check your wallet to see if you have any tokens.

Relax and enjoy the ride!

Reply

or to participate.